The story goes that Franz Peter Schubert wrote ‘Ständchen’ at a tavern during a break of his afternoon walk. Originally written for solo voice and piano in 1826, Franz Liszt made a transcription for solo piano over 2 decades later. Today, Nikola Meeuwsen (14) will perform this piece for you!

Piece: Ständchen
Composer: Franz Schubert | Franz Liszt (transcription)
Location: Concertgebouw | Kleine Zaal
Piano: Nikola Meeuwsen

Nikola Meeuwsen
Nikola Meeuwsen (2002) knew at once that he wanted to become a pianist after hearing a performance by Vladimir Horowitz of Rachmaninov’s Third Piano Concerto. In 2012 Nikola took part in the Steinway Concours in Amsterdam where he was declared winner by both jury and public. In 2014 he was awarded the first prize in the Royal Concertgebouw Concours. At present Nikola is a student of Marlies van Gent at the Royal Conservatoire in The Hague, and also at the prestigious Accademia Pianistica di Imola with Enrico Pace. Nikola performs in many venues throughout the country. He has also performed several times in the Kleine Zaal of the Concertgebouw. In June 2018 he played the 1st piano concerto of Chopin in the Great Hall of the Concertgebouw together with the Residentie Orkest. He was also listened to last year during recitals in Milan, Bologna, Imola, Trieste, Busseto and Tavira. In addition to solo recitals and concerts Nikola recently played in a performance of Robert Schumann's piano quintet with the Matangi string quartet, appeared with violinist Alexander Kerr and violist Vladimir Mendelssohn at the Storioni Festival, and performed piano duets with the renowned Italian pianist Igor Roma at the "Klassiek op het Amstelveld" in Amsterdam. Visit Nikola's website to read his full biography